Standard Grief:

Sadness directly related to a loss.

Complex Grief:

Sadness related to a loss. Includes additional meanings and associated emotions as in:

  • Regret – “I am a horrible person”
  • Anger – “The universe took something too soon”
  • Hopelessness – “ My life has not meaning now”
  • Fear – “I am at risk of losing more”
  • Helpless – “I am incapable- I cannot go on”

Complex grief is grieving that get stuck because of the complicating meaning the trauma of loss has triggered.

In order to treat complex grief, we remove the LBs associated with the loss, as shown above, and this lets the standard grief progress through the regular stages of grief, to arrive at a healthy perspective on the loss.


The first boutique psychology provider to bring a client-facing branded therapy approach to the high performing consumer. We are results driven mind trainers for people who hate barriers.

Latest posts by shiftpsych (see all)